PWR BTTM’s Introspective Exploration of Insecurity “LOL” Out Today | Shore Fire Media

PWR BTTMClient Information

10 April, 2017Print

PWR BTTM’s Introspective Exploration of Insecurity “LOL” Out Today

PWR BTTM's Introspective Exploration of Insecurity "LOL" Out Today

PWR BTTM today release "LOL" from 'Pageant' (out May 12/Polyvinyl), which finds Ben Hopkins in unprecedented emotional territory. Initially paired with sparse guitar strums and percussive patter, Hopkins battles an internal dialogue between what they present to the world, and how the world perceives them. As the song reaches a crash between climactic chorus and verse (accompanied by horns and Hopkins' mother's operatic backing vocals), Hopkins admits a devastating line of "When you are queer, you are always 19," before a trademark PWR BTTM wall of sound and Liv Bruce's percussive rush ends the strife if only temporarily.

A vibrant shift for PWR BTTM, "LOL" succeeds one of the most lush and dynamic tracks on 'Pageant' musically, and as one of the many explorations of self on the new album. "LOL" follows the previously released, politically charged empowerment rallying cry "Big Beautiful Day" and hilarious, bratty youth anthem "Answer My Text."

Listen to "LOL" with visuals created by Mary Shyne: http://shorefi.re/2oNC07V

PWR BTTM's 'Pageant' is out May 12 on Polyvinyl, and has garnered early acclaim from Rolling Stone, Billboard, Pitchfork, and The FADER, who call it "punchy and powerful," while NPR Music called first single "Big Beautiful Day" "louder, glamorous, and deeply personal."

PWR BTTM is currently on a run of European tour dates, and will perform at this year's Reading and Leeds Festivals 2017. They are on tour in the US later this spring and summer with an astonishing live performance which The New York Times called "part theater, part punk, entirely captivating" in an exceptional live review.

Ben Hopkins identifies as queer and uses they/them/their pronouns. Liv Bruce identifies as queer, non-binary, and transfeminine and uses they/them/their pronouns.

Mon, Apr 10 - Dublin, Ireland - The Workman's Club* SOLD OUT

Tue, Apr 11 - Manchester, UK - The Deaf Institute* SOLD OUT

Wed, Apr 12 - Sheffield, UK - The Harley Hotel & Bar*

Thu, Apr 13 - Birmingham, UK - Hare & Hounds*

Sat, Apr 15 - Glasgow, UK - Centre for Contemporary Arts* SOLD OUT

Sun, Apr 16 - Bristol, UK - Exchange* SOLD OUT

Mon, Apr 17 - Brighton, UK - The Haunt* SOLD OUT

Tue, Apr 18 - London, UK - The Garage* SOLD OUT

Thu, Apr 20 - Nantes, FR - Stereolux

Fri, Apr 21 - Bourges, FR - Printemps de Bourges

Sat, Apr 22 - Paris, FR - La Gaite Lyrique*

Mon, Apr 24 - Lille, FR - L'aeronef*

Tue, Apr 25 - Rouen, FR - 106*

Thu, May 25 - Montreal, QC - Piccolo Rialto^

Fri, May 26 - Toronto, ON - Velvet Underground^ SOLD OUT

Sat, May 27 - Howell, MI - Bled Fest^

Tue, May 30 - Chicago, IL - Subterranean^ SOLD OUT

Wed, May 31 - Chicago, IL - Subterranean^ SOLD OUT

Thu, Jun 01 - Minneapolis, MN - Triple Rock Social Club^ SOLD OUT

Fri, Jun 02 - Omaha, NE - The Waiting Room^

Sat, Jun 03 - Wichita, KS - Wichita River Festival

Mon, Jun 05 - Dallas, TX - Club Dada^

Tue, Jun 06 - Austin, TX - Barracuda^

Wed, Jun 07 - Houston, TX - White Oak Music Hall^

Thu, Jun 08 - New Orleans, LA - Gasa Gasa^

Fri, Jun 09 - Tallahassee, FL - The Wilbury^

Sat, Jun 10 - Orlando, FL - Backbooth^

Mon, Jun 12 - Atlanta, GA - Hell @ The Masquerade^

Tue, Jun 13 - Nashville, TN - Mercy Lounge^

Thu, Jun 15 - Durham, NC - The Pinhook^

Fri, Jun 16 - Washington, DC - Black Cat^

Sat, Jun 17 - Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer^

Mon, Jun 19 - Allston, MA - Paradise Rock Club^ SOLD OUT

Tue, Jun 20 - Providence, RI - Columbus Theatre^

Wed, Jun 21 - New York, NY - Webster Hall+ SOLD OUT

Fri, Jul 07 - Pittsburgh, PA - Cattivo~ SOLD OUT

Sat, Jul 08 - Columbus, OH - The Basement~

Sun, Jul 09 - St. Louis, MO - Off Broadway~

Wed, Jul 12 - Tucson, AZ - 191 Toole~

Sat, Jul 15 - Los Angeles, CA - Teragram Ballroom~

Sun, Jul 16 - San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall~

Tue, Jul 18 - Portland, OR - Hawthorne Theatre~

Wed, Jul 19 - Seattle, WA - Neumos~

Fri, Jul 21 - Vancouver, BC - The Biltmore Cabaret~

Sat, Jul 22 - Spokane, WA - The Bartlett~

Sun, Jul 23 - Missoula, MT - Zootown Arts Community Center~

Tue, Jul 25 - Salt Lake City, UT - Kilby Court%

Thu, Jul 27 - Denver, CO - The Bluebird Theater%

Sun, Jul 30 - Lakewood, OH - Mahall's%

Fri, Aug 25-27 - Reading and Leeds, UK - Reading & Leeds Festivals 2017

Thu, Aug 31-Sun, Sep 3 - Salisbury, UK - End of the Road Festival 2017

(*Orchards in support)

(^Tancred and Nnamdi Ogbonnaya in support)

(+Tancred and Fits in support)

(~iji and T-Rextasy in support)

(%Ratboys and T-Rextasy in support)

For more information please contact Chris Taillie (ctaillie@shorefire.com), Josh Page (jpage@shorefire.com) or Allen Nguyen (anguyen@shorefire.com) at Shore Fire Media, (718) 522-7171