Low Country Sound’s Adam Hood Sets Oct. 12 Release for Autobiographical Somewhere In Between | Shore Fire Media

Adam HoodClient Information

9 August, 2018Print

Low Country Sound’s Adam Hood Sets Oct. 12 Release for Autobiographical Somewhere In Between

Low Country Sound's Adam Hood Sets Oct. 12 Release for Autobiographical 'Somewhere In Between'

11-track record features co-writes with Brent Cobb, Pat McLaughlin, Josh Abbott and more
Stream "She Don't Love Me" ft. Brent Cobb, out tomorrow (8.10):
soundcloud.com/adamhoodmusic/she-dont-love-me/s-r9Vxr

 

As a writer for Grammy award-winning producer Dave Cobb's Low Country Sound, blue-collar storyteller Adam Hood is most known for his songs recorded by Miranda Lambert, Brent Cobb, Anderson East, Lee Ann Womack and Little Big Town, and after years of writing for others, 'Somewhere in Between,' is an album that finally finds Hood telling his own story. Due October 12 on Hood's label Southern Songs, the deeply autobiographical record features Hood writing or co-writing 10 of the record's 11 tracks alongside friends Pat McLaughlin, Brent Cobb, who appears on the electrified "She Don't Love Me," and Josh Abbott.

Teaming up with friend and producer Oran Thornton (Miranda Lambert 'Revolution,' Eric Church 'Caught In The Act: Live,' Angaleena Presley 'Wrangled'), Hood recorded most of the album live at Nashville's Sound Emporium Studios over two quick days. His goal was to create something that reflected the raw, real sound of his concerts, where overdubs and unlimited takes are never an option. The result is a record that reflects Hood's Opelika, Alabama-bred working class roots, mixing the upbeat thrill of roadhouse roots-rock songs with the contemplative, stripped-down sway of country ballads.

Joining him in the studio were guitarist Pat McLaughlin, bassist Lex Price, and drummer Jerry Roe. All of whom captured their parts in just a handful of live takes while Hood simultaneously tracked his vocals. Stripped free of studio trickery and lushly layered arrangements, the record shines a light on everyday experiences.

As a native and current resident of Alabama, Hood celebrates America's rural pockets with songs like "Keeping Me Here" and "Real Small Town," two songs filled with images of main streets, open landscapes, hard times, and good people. A dedicated family man, Hood wrote "Locomotive" -- a heartland anthem, full of Telecaster twang and sunny swagger -- after watching his young daughter develop her motor skills while playing with a set of blocks, and balancing his life as a relentless road-warrior, Hood penned highway ballad "Downturn" about a life filled with wanderlust and long drives from gig to gig.

Those gigs are a part of Hood that's driven him since age 16 when he began playing weekly hometown shows, and he hasn't slowed since. A full list of upcoming dates is below. For tickets and tour information, please visit adamhood.com.

'Somewhere In Between' Tracklist:
1. Heart of a Queen (Adam Hood, Ben Danaher)
2. She Don't Love Me (ft. Brent Cobb) (Adam Hood, Brent Cobb, Josh Abbott)
3. Alabama Moon (Adam Hood, Pat McLaughlin)
4. Downturn (Adam Hood, Jason Eady)
5. The Weekend (Adam Hood, Pat McLaughlin)
6. Bayou Girl (Willis Alan Ramsey)
7. Easy Way (Adam Hood, Pat McLaughlin)
8. Locomotive (Adam Hood, Jason Saenz)
9. Keeping Me Here (Adam Hood, Jason Saenz, Oran Thornton, Jared Hicks)
10. Real Small Town (Adam Hood, William Clark Green)
11. Confederate Rose (Adam Hood, Pat McLaughlin)

 

Adam Hood on Tour:
Sun., Aug. 12 / 3rd & Lindsley / Nashville, TN 
Tues., Aug. 14 / Railhead Smokehouse / Willow Park, TX 
Wed., Aug. 15 / Lyle Summer Music Series / Abilene, TX 
Thurs., Aug. 16 / Main Street Crossing / Tomball, TX 
Fri., Aug. 17 / Tejas Rodeo Co. / Bulverde, TX 
Sat., Aug. 18 / Six Springs Tavern / Richardson, TX 
Fri., Sept. 7 / Range 231 / Montgomery, AL
Sat., Sept. 8 / Eddie's Attic / Decatur, GA 
Sat., Sept. 22 / Southbound Bar and Grill / Springfield, MO 
Wed., Sept. 26 / The Listening Room / Mobile, AL 
Thurs., Sept. 27 / Florabama / Pensacola, FL 
Fri., Sept. 28 / Suncoast Songwriters Weekend / Bahama Beach, FL 
Sat., Sept. 29 / Robinson Music Festival / Robinson, TX 
Fri., Oct. 5 / Zydeco / Birmingham, AL 
Fri., Oct. 12 / Hi Tone / Memphis, TN 
Sat., Oct. 13 / The Historic Fort Worth Stockyards / Ft. Worth, TX 
Fri., Oct. 26 / Billy's Icehouse / New Braunfels, TX 
Sat., Oct. 27 / Mule Barn / Justin, TX 
Sun., Oct. 28 / Sam's Burger Joint / San Antonio, TX
Thurs., Nov. 1 / Dosey Doe / The Woodlands, TX 
Fri., Nov. 2 / Blue Light / Dallas, TX 
Thurs., Nov. 15 / Magnolia Motor Lounge / Ft. Worth, TX 
Fri., Nov. 16 / Bubba's Brewhouse / Durant, OK 
Sat., Nov. 17 / The Blue Door / Oklahoma City, OK
Fri., Nov. 30 / Love and War in Texas / Lindale, TX
Sat., Dec. 1 / Hank's / McKinney, TX
Sun., Jan. 6 / Steamboat MusicFest / Steamboat Springs, CO
Mon., Jan. 7 / Steamboat MusicFest / Steamboat Springs, CO
Tues., Jan. 8 / Steamboat MusicFest / Steamboat Springs, CO
Tues., Jan. 29 / Mile 0 Fest / Key West, FL
Wed., Jan. 30 / Mile 0 Fest / Key West, FL
Thurs., Jan. 31 / Mile 0 Fest / Key West, FL
Fri., Feb. 1 / Mile 0 Fest / Key West, FL
Sat., Feb. 2 / Mile 0 Fest / Key West, FL

For more information, contact Jaclyn D. Carter at Shore Fire Media, (615) 280-5330.