Amy Speace Faces Being ‘That Kind Of Girl’, New Album Out March 3 On Windbone Records | Shore Fire Media

19 December, 2014Print

Amy Speace Faces Being ‘That Kind Of Girl’, New Album Out March 3 On Windbone Records

Amy Speace Faces Being 'That Kind Of Girl', New Album Out March 3 On Windbone Records

"...she's never been as naked, or as fearless, as on this album, the breathtaking 'That Kind of Girl' - Holly George Warren (see Holly George Warren's full essay below)

Billboard Premieres First Song "Nothing Good Can Come From This," Listen Here:

On March 3, Amy Speace will release her new album 'That Kind Of Girl' on Windbone Records. The album is an intimate, heart-wrenching exploration of a love affair and it's aftermath, the dangerous addictive dance of love and alcohol, and the sobering journey out of it.

Recorded live in three days to capture an emotional immediacy, rife with stirring strings, weeping pedal steel and full of melancholy, these songs are not only an exorcism of the soul but an exploration of the impossible secrecy of "the other woman."

Read Holly George Warren's thoughtful essay on Amy and this new album here.

The twelve original songs on 'That Kind Of Girl' were recorded in East Nashville and feature producer Neilson Hubbard on drums, guitarists Will Kimbrough (Rodney Crowell, Todd Snider) and Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket), Eamon McLoughlin on strings and mandolin, Danny Mitchell on keys and horns, and Dean Marold on upright bass.

Amy Speace will be supporting 'That Kind Of Girl' with a national tour in 2015.

Amy's 2013 record, 'How To Sleep In A Stormy Boat,' was a "really powerful" (NPR) set that received raves from the NY Times, Billboard and American Songwriter, who called it "her most intense and passionate set." Watch the video for 'How To Sleep In A Stormy Boat's "The Sea and the Shore," here.

Born in Baltimore and now living in Nashville, Speace is a former Shakespearian actor whose fans include Mary Gauthier and Judy Collins, who has covered Amy's song "Weight Of The World." Amy has toured alongside Alejandro Escovedo, John Fulbright, Guy Clark, Ian Hunter, and Nanci Griffith.

'That Kind Of Girl' Tracklist:
1. Nothing Good Can Come From This
2. Come Pick Me Up
3. Better Than This
4. Three Days
5. That Kind Of Girl
6. One Man's Love
7. Hymn For The Crossing
8. In Chicago
9. Trouble Looks Good On You
10. Raincoat
11. Strange Medicine
12. I Don't Know How To Stop Loving You

Amy Speace on the Web:

Hi-res album art, press releases, links, etc:

For more information about Amy Speace, please contact Chris Taillie (, Matt Hanks ( or James Rainis ( at Shore Fire Media: (718) 522-7171