DJ Shadow Unveils First New Music In Over Two Years | Shore Fire Media

DJ ShadowClient Information

24 July, 2019Print

DJ Shadow Unveils First New Music In Over Two Years

DJ Shadow Unveils First New Music In Over Two Years


DJ Shadow has released his first new music since 2017. Today he’s unveiled “Rocket Fuel” featuring De La Soul (out on Mass Appeal). The song will be featured on a new album coming later this year, and on the Madden NFL 20 playlist being released July 24. “Rocket Fuel” is a hard-charging reemergence for DJ Shadow, long celebrated as a pivotal artist in experimental, instrumental hip-hop. The song explodes with stacks of vocal samples, horns, Shadow’s dazzling DJ scratch work and a muscular performance from the legendary rap crew. 

Listen to “Rocket Fuel” here: 

and on YouTube:  


Says DJ Shadow:

It’s been awhile since my last album The Mountain Will Fall, and the corresponding tour…and since the tour ended, I’ve been mostly silent. This is because I’ve been focused and working on a ton of music. I usually try to avoid hyperbole, and I’m not super-comfortable hyping up my own stuff, but things are about to get pretty exciting. My heroes De La Soul were kind enough to join me on the debut single, "Rocket Fuel," and the collab encapsulates so much of what I love about, beats, and fun.


DJ Shadow has previously collaborated with De La Soul: Posdnous was featured on Shadow’s 2011 album The Less You Know, the Better, and he sampled De La Soul for his landmark debut Endtroducing.....

DJ Shadow’s last album, 2016’s The Mountain Will Fall (Mass Appeal), was widely celebrated and led to a performance of “Nobody Speak” with Run The Jewels on the Tonight Show, his first #1 on Billboard’s Dance/Electronic chart, and nearly 100 dates of international touring that included Coachella and Pitchfork Paris. “Nobody Speak,” deemed “brassy and bruising” by Rolling Stone, was featured in multiple films and commercials, and was the most played hip-hop song on alternative radio in 2018. A surprise The Mountain Has Fallen EP (Mass Appeal) released in 2017 featured Danny Brown and Nas.