Esperanza Spalding Unveils New Music From Truly Intoxicating (NYT) 12 Little Spells Project In Advance Of May 10 Expanded Physical Release On Concord Records | Shore Fire Media

Esperanza SpaldingClient Information

26 April, 2019Print

Esperanza Spalding Unveils New Music From “Truly Intoxicating” (NYT) 12 Little Spells Project In Advance Of May 10 Expanded Physical Release On Concord Records

Listen To “Lest We Forget (Blood)”

Esperanza Spalding has shared new music today, a song from the forthcoming expanded physical release of her latest project 12 Little Spells (Concord Records).

 Listen to “Lest We Forget” here: 

“Lest We Forget” is one of four new original songs that Esperanza recently recorded and added as bonus tracks for the expanded edition of 12 Little Spells. The new version of the project will be available for the first time on physical formats and download May 10 via Concord Records. Each song on 12 Little Spells. was inspired by a different part of the body, and Esperanza unveiled the first 12 songs over 12 days in October 2018, before the album appeared on streaming services. 12 Little Spells earned widespread acclaim and placed on a number of key Best Of 2018 lists critics lists.

Esperanza also recently performed with her band on the public radio program Live From Here, watch “12 Little Spells” live here:

Pre-order 12 Little Spells, including packages that range from signed test pressings and USB drives, colored vinyl and more:

12 Little Spells was first penned by Spalding while on a writing retreat at a castle in Italy - inspired by the healing properties of art, how music and the body interact, and her interest in Reikki. Spalding recorded the album with her band in just a few days, and then released each spell with it’s own video on her Facebook, Instagram and YouTube pages over the course of 12 days. The videos have garnered a combined 4 million views and counting to date. In November and December she unveiled a completely new live concert - with a customized stage design, gowns designed for her by Diego Montoya, choreography and projected images – limited to just 12 performances. 



* Top Albums and Best Jazz Albums of 2018 “Truly intoxicating”

– New York Times

* Best Albums of 2018 “[Spalding] is well over a decade into one of the most fruitful and strikingly original careers in contemporary pop…the conceptual hook of 12 Little Spells only hints at the radically inventive nature of the songs themselves”

– Rolling Stone

* Best Jazz of 2018 


“Magic…pure imagination and also incredibly tactile”

– NPR Music


– Essence


12 Little Spells track list including 4 new bonus spells:

1. 12 Little Spells - Thoracic Spine

2. To Tide Us Over - Mouth

3. Til the Next Full - Eyes

4. Thang - Hips

5. Touch in Mine - Fingers

6. The Longing Deep Down - Abdominal Portal

7. You Have to Dance - Feet

8. Now Know- Solar Portal 

9. All Limbs Are - Arms 

10. Readying to Rise - Legs

11. Dancing the Animal - Mind/Brain

12. With Others - Ears 

13. Lest We Forget - Blood

14. How To - Hair 

15. Move Many - Joints

16. Ways Together - Shoulders