Floating Points Shares New Track Anasickmodular | Shore Fire Media

Floating PointsClient Information

1 October, 2019Print

Floating Points Shares New Track "Anasickmodular"

New Album Crush Out 18 October On Ninja Tune

LISTEN TO "ANASICKMODULAR" HERE: https://floatingpoints.lnk.to/anasickmodularPR 


Sam Shepherd aka Floating Points recently announced his new album Crush will be released on 18 October on Ninja Tune. Along with the announcement he shared the video for 'Last Bloom'. Today he has followed up with a new track 'Anasickmodular'. Partially recorded live, the track captures that powerful moment when Shepherd is improvising on stage and everything clicks, the rush of joy that comes in that moment as it's followed blindly and wildly into chaotic breaks and twisted synths. The last track to be shared before the album's release this month, this instantaneous spirit is a huge part of what makes Crush so thrilling.

LISTEN TO "ANASICKMODULAR" HERE: https://floatingpoints.lnk.to/anasickmodularPR

Speaking of the track Shepherd says:

'Anasickmodular' was a working title that stuck. The main pad audio and vocals are from a live improvisation at Dekmantel festival in 2017. At some point on the tour we were in Sydney and Anna (who is half of the Hamill Industries team responsible for the live laser/bubble oscilloscope projections) was ill so, on an off day, I started a new project bringing the modular out of it's box, hence the title. The second half of the track was recorded live in situ and is a lot of fun to play live!

As is typical of his career so far, Floating Points’ first album in four years, Crush, twists whatever you think you know about him on its head again. A tempestuous blast of electronic experimentalism whose title alludes to the pressure-cooker of the current environment we find ourselves in. As a result, Shepherd has made some of his heaviest, most propulsive tracks yet, nodding to the UK bass scene he emerged from in the late 2000s, such as the dystopian low-end bounce of previously shared striking lead single ‘LesAlpx’ (Pitchfork’s 'Best New Track'), but there are also some of his most expressive songs on Crush: his signature melancholia is there in the album’s sublime mellower moments or in the Buchla synthesizer, whose eerie modulation haunts the album.

Made during an intense five-week period and inspired by the invigorating improvisation of his shows supporting The xx in 2017, Crush feels direct and vital. It’s the sound of the many sides of Floating Points finally fusing together. It draws from the "explosive" moments during his sets, the moments that usually occur when he throws together unexpected genres, for the very simple reason that he gets excited about wanting to "hear this record, really loud, now!" and then puts the needle on. It’s "just like what happens when you’re at home playing music with your friends and it's going all over the place," he says.

Floating Points will debut his brand new live show around Europe in November with dates including a show at London's Printworks, the show promises to capture the energy of Crush while Hamill Industries will bring technology that creates a dialogue between music and visuals.

Pre-order Crush here: https://floatingpoints.lnk.to/crushPR 


Early praise for Crush:

“As driven a track as Shepherd has ever made…an exercise in careful restraint – until it isn’t…it’s music befitting a sci-fi epic, or a sorcerer’s rites” – Pitchfork, Best New Track

“A suite of experimental electronic music that vacillates between restless, Aphex Twin-style juddering and tense fogs of ambience” – NY Times

“The baron of immersive beats” – Fader

“He’s back with a thump, and how…in the right groove you could imagine listening to it for hours on repeat” – Vulture

“For his first new music in two years, Sam Shepherd has left the psych-out wilds and returned to the crucible of his creative development, the club” – NPR Music

“A hell of a return to form and one that shows how much he’s grown in the past few years" – Consequence of Sound

“Head-clearing and floor-filling…a threshing groove that Shepherd throttles and filters” – AV Club 


Tour dates:

13 Nov - Paris, FR @ Elysee Montmartre

16 Nov - Berlin, DE @ Funkhaus

21 Nov - London @ Printworks


Tickets and full dates including additional DJ dates are here: https://www.floatingpoints.co.uk/ 


Crush tracklist:

1. Falaise

2. Last Bloom

3. Anasickmodular

4. Requiem for CS70 and Strings

5. Karakul

6. LesAlpx

7. Bias

8. Environments

9. Birth

10. Sea-Watch

11. Apoptose Pt1

12. Apoptose Pt2


Spotify: https://found.ee/floatingpoints-sp

Apple Music: https://found.ee/floatingpoints-am

Instagram: https://found.ee/floatingpoints-ig

Facebook: https://found.ee/floatingpoints-fb

Twitter: https://found.ee/floatingpoints-tw

Youtube: https://found.ee/floatingpoints-yt

Soundcloud: https://found.ee/floatingpoints-sc