Jean Grae & Quelle Chris Unveil First Video From Collaborative LP Everything’s Fine, Out March 30 / Mello Music Group | Shore Fire Media

26 February, 2018Print

Jean Grae & Quelle Chris Unveil First Video From Collaborative LP Everything’s Fine, Out March 30 / Mello Music Group

Jean Grae & Quelle Chris Unveil First Video From Collaborative LP 'Everything's Fine,' Out March 30 / Mello Music Group

Guest Starring Dane Orr, Eric Andre, Anna Wise, Denmark Vessey, Littles The Cat, And Hannibal Buress


Fresh off the announcement of their first full-length collaborative hip-hop album ‘Everything’s Fine,’ (March 30/Mello Music Group), Jean Grae and Quelle Chris are releasing the album’s first video, framed as a hilariously offbeat karaoke party/photo shoot featuring cameos from Eric Andre, Hannibal Buress, and more.

Watch “Gold, Purple, Orange” here, premiering in a Consequence of Sound “Origins” feature

And on YouTube.

“[“Gold, Purple, Orange”] is simultaneously goofy as all hell and deeply poignant…an ode to accepting individuality in spite of stereotypes, and nothing captures that better than a silly ass glamour shot.” – Consequence of Sound

Freezing in bizarre tableaus, wearing outlandish clothing and clutching a truly random assortment of props (a cat, a Kool-Aid packet, a book on Lionel Ritchie), the participants in the photo shoot of “Gold, Purple, Orange” (Jean, Quelle, Eric, Hannibal and more) mouth along to the biting lyrics. “Without life built, for the right price, guilt / ‘cause you can be the things they say to be and get killed,” Jean raps, voice slicing through Quelle’s woozy beat.

‘Everything’s Fine’ is the first full-length collaborative album for longtime creative partners Jean Grae and Quelle Chris. Featuring special guests like Michael Che, Nick Offerman, John Hodgman, Anna Wise, Hannibal Buress and more, ‘Everything’s Fine’ is a deft work of satire and abstractionism that interrogates our society’s 21st century ennui.

Read NPR’s album announcement here, featuring the lead single “OhSh (feat. Hannibal Buress)” as a Songs We Love.

Jean Grae is a multihyphenate artist whose work integrates music, comedy, and visual media. In addition to collaborations with The Roots, Talib Kweli, and Robert Glasper, the performer, director, soundtrack composer, and writer has released nearly two dozen self-produced and engineered independent albums; her work is even archived in The Yale Anthology of Rap and the Smithsonian National Museum of American History and Culture. Additional appearances include NPR, 2 Broke Girls, Comedy Central, MSNBC, Vice, BET’s Hip Hop Awards, hit podcast Welcome to Night Vale and the Deadpool comic book, where she punched the titular antihero in the face.

Quelle Chris, originally from Detroit and known for his work with Danny Brown and far beyond, is a prolific MC and producer. He released his 2017 album ‘Being You Is Great, I Wish I Could Be You More Often’ to acclaim, with the Fader hailing it as “an introspective, funny, and honest rap album that reflects the breadth of the human experience.”



  1. Everything’s Fine
  2. My Contribution To This Scam
  3. OhSh (feat. Hannibal Buress)
  4. House Call (feat. Big Tone, Anna Wise, Johnathan Hoard)
  5. Don’t Worry It’s Fine (feat. John Hodgman, Michael Che)
  6. Gold, Purple, Orange (feat. Dane Orr)
  7. Peacock (feat. Dane Orr)
  8. Doing Bettar Than Ever (feat. Ash “Dap” Kondabalu)
  9. The Smoking Man (feat. Denmark Vessey)
  10. Breakfast Of Champs
  11. Scoop Of Dirt (feat. Your Old Droog)
  12. Zero
  13. Everything’s Still Fine (feat. Nick Offerman)
  14. Waiting For The Moon (feat. Mosel, Anna Wise)
  15. River (feat. Melanie Charles, Paul Bae Bro Wilson)


Pre-order ‘Everything’s Fine’ here:




For more information please contact Matt Hanks, Chris Taillie or Spencer Roth-Rose at Shore Fire Media, (718) 522-7171