Judy Collins’ Marvelous (Boston Globe) Winter Stories Out Now | Shore Fire Media

Judy CollinsClient Information

2 December, 2019Print

Judy Collins’ “Marvelous” (Boston Globe) Winter Stories Out Now

Featuring Chatham County Line And Jonas Fjeld




Iconic singer, songwriter, author and activist Judy Collins’ new seasonal album Winter Stories (Cleopatra) is out now - an intimate and rootsy excursion of new holiday songs that capture the ice, frigid winds and sought warmth of the season. Calling on North Carolina newgrass quartet Chatham County Line and Norwegian artist Jonas Fjeld, the collaborative record is a swirling mix of new originals and classic covers, including Joni Mitchell’s “The River,” and a re-recording of Collins’ evergreen classic “The Blizzard.”   

“At 80, Collins sounds as clear as a spring wending through a field of wildflowers,” the New York Times said in their expansive profile that ran as a full page in yesterday’s Arts & Leisure section. Read the full New York Times story here: https://www.nytimes.com/2019/11/26/arts/music/judy-collins.html

No Depression said similarly: “Collins is creating some of the best music she has ever shared.” Variety said in a recent profile with Collins that Winter Stories “is not a conventional Christmas album, not that there is or ever was anything conventional about Collins.”

Collins, Chatham County Line and Fjeld just wrapped up 8 nights of shows at Joe’s Pub in NYC, and have a limited engagement Winter Stories tour continuing through this week. See itinerary below. 

“The ethereal soprano” (NYT) just turned 80 in May. Winter Stories marks an incredibly prolific run for Collins. This will be her fourth album in the last four years, and she continues to perform 100 dates a year.  

In the past four years, Collins has released three albums and a each have received a tremendous amount of accolades. 2016’s Silver Skies Blue, a duets record with Ari Hest, was nominated for a GRAMMY Award, and led to a performance at the GRAMMY Premiere Ceremony. In 2017, she released Everybody Knows, her first album with Stephen Stills celebrating an important decades-long friendship that led to a year of touring, a profile on CBS Sunday Morning and more.  

Listen to “Northwest Passage” at Billboard here: https://www.billboard.com/articles/news/8532474/judy-collins-covers-a-folk-gem-for-her-winter-stories-album-premiere



1.    North West Passage

2.    Mountain Girl

3.    Winter Stories

4.    Bury Me With My Guitar On

5.    River

6.    Sweet Refrain

7.    The Fallow Way

8.    Angels In The Snow

9.    Highwayman

10. Frozen North

11. The Blizzard


TOUR DATES:                  

* 12/4/19 - Ridgefield, CT - Ridgefield Playhouse            

* 12/5/19 - Ridgefield, CT - Ridgefield Playhouse           

* 12/6/19- Alexandria VA - The Birchmere          

* 12/7/19 - Alexandria VA - The Birchmere      

12/15/19 - Vancouver, Canada - Kay Meek Theater  

12/17/19 -Portland, OR - Aladdin Theater    

12/19/19 - Seattle, WA - Seattle Jazz Alley   

12/20/19 - Seattle, WA - Seattle Jazz Alley    

12/21/19 - Seattle, WA - Seattle Jazz Alley    

12/22/19 - Seattle, WA - Seattle Jazz Alley       

* = Winter Stories shows