A Powerful Revelation (Downbeat): Kandace Springs’ The Women Who Raised Me Out Today on Blue Note Records | Shore Fire Media

27 March, 2020Print

A Powerful Revelation (Downbeat): Kandace Springs’ The Women Who Raised Me Out Today on Blue Note Records

“A Powerful Revelation” (Downbeat): Kandace Springs’ The Women Who Raised Me Out Today on Blue Note Records

Pays Homage To Lauryn Hill, Billie Holiday, Bonnie Raitt, Ella Fitzgerald, Sade & More

New Documentary Detailing The Making and Meaning of the Album Out Now, Watch Here: https://KandaceSprings.lnk.to/TWWRMDoc

Today, Kandace Springs – the sassy, jazzy, soulful, car-obsessed musician who the late Prince once complimented as having “a voice that could melt snow” – has released her “powerful revelation” (Downbeat) of an album, The Women Who Raised Me on Blue Note Records. Inspired by a long list of legendary female musicians who have played a role in shaping Kandace as both a woman and a musician, The Women Who Raised Me delivers “beautiful music” (Wall Street Journal) that showcases her remarkable ability to take classic songs and imbue them with her own unique style. Grammy-winning producer Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Herbie Hancock) helmed The Women Who Raised Me sessions and together they created an album that is not only “deeply soulful” (WBGO), but a reflection of Springs’ heritage and culture.

Alongside album release, Kandace has also shared a new documentary where, accompanied by musicologist Marc Cary, she visits historic sites around New York with connections to some of the artists she celebrates on the album.

Watch the documentary about the making and meaning of The Women Who Raised Me here: https://KandaceSprings.lnk.to/TWWRMDoc 

“I’ve been thinking for a long time that I wanted to make an album where I pay tribute to all the great female artists that inspired me growing up. Each of them taught me something, and all those lessons combined make me who I am today. In a way, all I’m trying to do every day is live up to the examples they set. My dream is that people will listen to my album, and then want to go learn more about all of these great singers. If that happens, then I’ve done my job.” — Kandace Springs

Stream/Order The Women Who Raised Me here: https://kandacesprings.lnk.to/TheWomenWhoRaisedMe

Stay tuned for more announcements regarding new and rescheduled tour dates HERE.


The Women Who Raised Me Tracklist

  1. Devil May Care (featuring Christian McBride)
  2. Angel Eyes (featuring Norah Jones)
  3. I Put A Spell On You (featuring David Sanborn)
  4. Pearls (featuring Avishai Cohen)
  5. Ex-Factor (featuring Elena Pinderhughes)
  6. I Can’t Make You Love Me (featuring Avishai Cohen)
  7. Gentle Rain (featuring Chris Potter)
  8. Solitude (featuring Chris Potter)
  9. The Nearness Of You
  10. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life
  11. Killing Me Softly With His Song (featuring Elena Pinderhughes)
  12. Strange Fruit


Praise for Kandace Springs

“Beautiful music” – Wall Street Journal

“Contained passion” – New Yorker

“A powerful revelation of Springs’ highly personal vision” – Downbeat

“Deeply soulful” – WBGO

“Riveting...ostensibly effortless ability to add captivating emotion” – Blavity


Connect with Kandace Springs

Official Site | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter