Steep Canyon Rangers, Boyz II Men, And The Asheville Symphony Join Forces For Official “Be Still Moses” Video Following Live Debut In Nashville | Shore Fire Media

Steep Canyon RangersClient Information

9 October, 2019Print

Steep Canyon Rangers, Boyz II Men, And The Asheville Symphony Join Forces For Official “Be Still Moses” Video Following Live Debut In Nashville

WATCH THE “SUBLIME HARMONIES AND SOULFUL AD-LIBS”  (ROLLING STONE) COME TO LIFE:  youtu.be/-Esd6sFrrYo

 

Steep Canyon Rangers - Asheville, North Carolina’s GRAMMY winners and perennial Billboard chart-toppers – traveled to Nashville this past weekend with 12 members of its hometown Asheville Symphony to join Philadelphia soul legends Boyz II Men for the live debut of their collaborative single “Be Still Moses.” The performance, conducted by Michael Bearden (Lady Gaga, Mary J. Blige), and captured at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center, is featured in the official video for “Be Still Moses” premiering today.

Watch Steep Canyon Rangers, Boyz II Men and members of the Asheville Symphony performing "Be Still Moses" for the first time here: youtu.be/-Esd6sFrrYo

“Be Still Moses” effortlessly contrasts the sonorous, bluegrass-flavored baritone of Steep Canyon Rangers’ Woody Platt with the timeless vocal arrangements that defined Boyz II Men's stratospheric rise in the '90s. The studio version was produced by Michael Selverne (who had the original idea for the project), Boyz II Men and Joe Mulvihill, and features Steep Canyon Rangers’ hometown Asheville Symphony, 12 of whose members also played on the live version from Nashville. It was released in August of this year, and coincided with the Rangers’ return to North Carolina-based Yep Roc Records. 

Listen to the studio recording of “Be Still Moses” here: youtube.com/watch?v=d277AGYJPkI

“Be Still Moses” marks the beginning of a busy year-end for Steep Canyon Rangers, who are about to embark on an international tour with their frequent collaborator, banjoist and comedian Steve Martin on his upcoming dates with Martin Short. They’ll be announcing additional recording projects in the near future, and a full list of scheduled live shows is below. 

 

Steep Canyon Rangers on tour:

Fri., Oct. 18 | Sands Bethlehem Event Center | Bethlehem, PA*

Sat., Oct. 19 | Borgata Hotel & Casino | Atlantic City, NJ*

Wed., Oct. 23 | Kutztown University of Pennsylvania | Kutztown, PA

Thurs., Oct. 24 | The Midland Theatre | Newark, OH

Sat., Oct. 26 | Clowes Memorial Hall | Indianapolis, IN

Fri., Nov. 1 | The Weinberg Center for the Arts | Frederick, MD

Sat., Nov. 2 | Academy Theatre | Lynchburg, VA

Fri., Nov. 8 - Sat., Nov. 9 | Riverside Theatre | Perth, Australia*

Mon., Nov. 11 | Adelaide Entertainment Centre | Hindmarsh, Australia*

Wed., Nov. 13 | Brisbane Entertainment Centre | Boondall, Australia*

Fri., Nov. 15 | Melbourne Arena | Melbourne, Australia*

Sun., Nov. 17 | International Convention Centre Sydney | Darling Harbour, Australia*

Tues., Nov. 19 | Spark Arena | Auckland, New Zealand*

Thurs., Jan. 9 | Grand Theater | Wausau, WI

Fri., Jan. 10 | University of Dubuque Heritage Center | Dubuque, IA

Fri., Jan. 24 | Pepperdine University | Malibu, CA

Fri., Feb. 28 | Ponte Vedra Concert Hall | Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Sun., Mar. 1 | Nancy and David Bilheimer Capitol Theatre | Clearwater, FL

Mon., Mar. 9 | Arizona Musicfest | Scottsdale, AZ

Thurs., Apr. 2 | Mount Baker Theatre | Bellingham, WA

*denotes show with Steve Martin and Martin Short

For more information, please contact:

Matt Hanks | mhanks@shorefire.com | 718.522.7171

Max Lefkowitz | mlefkowitz@shorefire.com | 718.522.7171

Olivia Del Valle | odelvalle@shorefire.com | 615.580. 5330