The Cactus Blossoms Return With New Album Easy Way Out March 1 | Shore Fire Media

5 December, 2018Print

The Cactus Blossoms Return With New Album ‘Easy Way’ Out March 1

Rolling Stone Premieres New Track “Please Don’t Call Me Crazy”

The Cactus Blossoms - Minneapolis-based blood harmony brother duo Page Burkum and Jack Torrey - have announced their new album Easy Way, to be released March 1 on their own Walkie Talkie Records. The album is the follow-up to their stunning 2016 debut You’re Dreaming, which NPR’s All Things Considered hailed for its “creative turns of phrase, gorgeous harmonies, and ageless sound.” That album preceded a number a milestones for The Cactus Blossoms including tours with Kacey Musgraves and Lucius, performances on prestigious stages ranging from Newport Folk to Lincoln Center, and a perfectly cast appearance on the third season of David Lynch’s Twin Peaks.

Produced by the brothers and recorded at Reliable Recorders in Chicago, Easy Way features ten new, original songs, and a number of special contributors including Dan Auerbach who co-wrote two tracks, plus Michael Lewis (Bon Iver, Andrew Bird) on saxophone and Joel Paterson (Devil in a Woodpile) on pedal steel.

Today Rolling Stone has shared the first track from Easy Way, the jagged garage-soul burner “Please Don’t Call Me Crazy.” Listen and share here:

Says Rolling Stone: "Maintaining the rock-solid, freak of genetics harmonies demonstrated on their debut, 'Please Don't Call Me Crazy' finds the twosome scuffing up their sound in Roy Orbison-meets-Television style."

Easy Way takes the deceptively unadorned musical approach The Cactus Blossoms are known for and ups the ante, with arrangements that shimmer and lyrics that cut. On “Please Don’t Call Me Crazy” Torrey observes that a “computer in your pocket” delivers “what you want/not what you need.” And on the humble anthem “Downtown” he jabs “Try getting by on minimum wage, I dare you/American slaves in the modern age, it should scare you.”

The Cactus Blossoms will tour extensively in 2019 with a run of headlining dates to be announced soon. In the mean time, they’ll be previewing new songs from Easy Way during a month-long residency at their original home base, the legendary Turf Club in St. Paul, every Monday night in January. Last month they played a year-end show at First Avenue in Minneapolis, where the Star Tribune’s Tim Campbell observed “The Cactus Blossoms looked ready for prime time.”

Easy Way is available for pre-order here:  


1. Desperado
2. I’m Calling You
3. Please Don’t Call Me Crazy
4. Got A Lotta Love
5. Easy Way
6. Downtown
7. Boomerang
8. See It Through
9. I Am The Road
10. Blue as the Ocean

For more information please contact Matt Hanks, Max Lefkowitz or Amy Bailey at Shore Fire Media, (718) 522-7171