Valerie June’s “Near-Perfect Front To Back” (Rolling Stone) New Album ‘The Order Of Time’ Out Today | Shore Fire Media

Valerie JuneClient Information

10 March, 2017Print

Valerie June’s “Near-Perfect Front To Back” (Rolling Stone) New Album ‘The Order Of Time’ Out Today

Valerie June's "Near-Perfect Front To Back" (Rolling Stone) New Album 'The Order Of Time' Out Today

Top-notch songwriting and sublime musicianship." - The Guardian

"An exercise in vigilant renewal... glides and grooves before breaking your heart completely." - Vice Noisey


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - March 10, 2017 - Valerie June's highly anticipated new album 'The Order of Time' is out today via Concord Records. The follow-up to 2013's breakthrough album 'Pushin' Against A Stone,' has already drawn broad international acclaim from the likes of Rolling Stone, New York Times, NPR Music, The Guardian, Vice Noisey, Garden & Gun, Okayplayer, MOJO, UNCUT, Entertainment Weekly and many more.

Produced by Matt Marinelli, 'The Order of Time' blends southern sounds, African rhythms and ambient atmospherics into an absorbing, soulful reflection on love, family, struggle and the passing of time. Expanding on the electric tones of its predecessor, June infused the new album with wide-open, ethereal soundscapes; an intimate, inviting backdrop for these richly detailed character studies and her one-of-a-kind voice.

An early contender for album of the year, 'The Order of Time' has been met with immediate and widespread acclamation. The Guardian's 4-STAR review affirmed, "The album finds June full of childlike wonderment amid a gloriously ethereal atmosphere reminiscent of Van Morrison's 'Astral Weeks.' Fantastic stuff." Rolling Stone asserted, "Near-perfect front to back, its politics are subtle and sly, mostly implicit and matter-of-fact, transmitted through sketches of lovers and other strugglers." Okayplayer called June "A true star in the making," and NPR Music declared, "Each of these songs are suffused with nostalgia or idealism that's also strikingly grounded."

Look for June's touching first person essay in this weekend's New York Times Sunday Arts & Leisure section--read it online here:

June wraps up the first leg of her US tour on March 11th at New York City's Town Hall. She heads to SXSW for a number of high profile performances including Willie Nelson's Luck Reunion before touring Europe.

The Order of Time Track List:

1. Long Lonely Road 

2. Love You Once Made

3. Shakedown 

4. If And

5. Man Done Wrong

6. The Front Door

7. Astral Plane

8. Just In Time

9. With You

10. Slip Slide On By 

11. Two Hearts

12. Got Soul

Order 'The Order of Time':




More info on Valerie June:







For more information, contact James Rainis ( or Matt Hanks ( at Shore Fire Media, (718) 522-7171.