Shore Fire Media

Arrested Youth Announces New Album ‘Nonfiction’

15-Song LP, Produced by John Feldmann, Releases June 25th via Lowly / Big Noise

Arrested Youth Announces New Album ‘Nonfiction’

Pre-save here:

“Ego” Single Out Today


On June 25th, Ian Johnson, the mind behind Arrested Youth, will release his first studio album ‘Nonfiction’ via Lowly / Big Noise. Produced by famed producer and Goldfinger member John Feldmann (Blink 182, The Used, Fever 333), ‘Nonfiction’ is an introspective story about growth, discovery and Johnson embracing his path in life. Today, he shares “Ego,” the latest single from the 15-song LP. Listen here:

Many of us are living more isolated, cynical lives than ever before. On the third single off his upcoming album ‘Nonfiction,’ Arrested Youth plays the devil’s advocate with his own ‘Ego’, suggesting that the reason he has felt so alone and cut off from new relationships is because he hasn’t made peace with his own-self. Childish yet brutally honest, “Ego” touches on the struggle to find intimacy in the modern digital world.

“As we all know, these dating apps are incredibly ego-driven,” Johnson explains. “A lot of the time we’re selling sex, vanity, and an ego boost (whether we care to admit it or not). Very recently, something about hooking up over the internet began to feel morally wrong to me. So, I made a promise to myself to meet someone in person when the timing is right...I’m off the apps.”

Arrested Youth is planning on hitting the road this fall. Stay tuned for a forthcoming announcement. 



Born in New York and raised in Louisville, KY, Ian Johnson aka Arrested Youth began writing lyrics and freestyle raps at the age of 15. Now 27-years-old and based outside Hudson, NY following a brief stint in Los Angeles, Arrested Youth has over 90M streams on Spotify and Apple Music, with placements on Spotify’s The New Alt, New Noise and All New Rock playlists as well as Apple Music’s Apple Music Alternative and New in Alternative playlists. His ability to cohesively ebb and flow between rock, pop and hip hop stylings has earned him bookings at the Reading and Leeds festivals, shows opening for YUNGBLUD, DREAMERS, and The Mowgli’s, and a feverish following of loyal supporters. During the height of quarantine, Arrested Youth called upon his global fanbase to help him on a one-of-a-kind project. Fans wrote and submitted lyrics, working alongside Johnson on what would ultimately become the ‘Arrested Youth & The Quarantiners’ collaborative EP.

This year Johnson continues his musical evolution via ‘Nonfiction.’ The new album is a bold statement on his musicianship and songwriting, brilliantly woven with personal narrative. ‘Nonfiction’ follows up Arrested Youth's debut 9-track project ‘FEAR’ and the ‘Sobville’ EP, which includes the top track “The Kid I Used To Know.”


‘Nonfiction’ LP Tracklisting:

  1. A Message From My Heart to My Head
  2. Find My Own Way (feat. Mark Hoppus)
  3. 98 Degrees
  4. Paul McCartney
  5. Ego
  6. 7th Grade
  7. Ryan
  8. My Friend
  9. Family Tree
  10. Unfaithful
  11. Father Tell Me
  12. 1984
  13. Leave My Casket Open...
  14. Parallel Lines
  15. Woke up In This Body



For more information on Arrested Youth, please contact

Rebecca Shapiro or Mike Jones at Shore Fire Media.