Shore Fire Media

'Dance Music Symphony,' Orchestral Renditions of Daft Punk, Massive Attack, Aphex Twin, and More, Out June 24th On X5

Dance Music Symphony, Orchestral Renditions of Daft Punk, Massive Attack, Aphex Twin, and More, Ou

A DJ-mix for orchestras, a club night in a concert hall, and a classical concert at a warehouse rave.


‘Dance Music Symphony,’ out June 24th via X5 Music Group, is an entirely new way of interpreting modern dance music, a three-part collection of orchestrated arrangements of 17 popular EDM and dance songs by Daft Punk, Massive Attack, Swedish House Mafia, The Knife, Aphex Twin, and more. ‘Dance Music Symphony’ follows X5's best-selling “Greatest Video Game Music" series, orchestral re-imaginations of popular video game music.


Check out selections from 'Dance Music Symphony' here: 


‘Dance Music Symphony’ will have its world premiere on July 2nd, performed by the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra at the main stage of Bråvalla Festival, Sweden’s largest music festival. Click here for more info:


Arranged by the groundbreaking Scandinavian conductor Hans Ek and performed by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, these compositions highlight the connection between the art-music tradition of Philip Glass and Steve Reich and today’s modern electronic dance music. ‘Dance Music Symphony’ reflects X5’s mission to connect with avid and casual listeners through a collection that’ll make you rethink the relationship between classical and dance music. Ek, a composer known for finding common ground among seemingly clashing styles of music, argues that today’s dance music wouldn’t be possible without such avant genre experiments as Stravinsky’s “The Rite of Spring.”


“I listened through a vast amount of dance classics and new hits,” says Ek. “From a palette of the greatest music I selected songs perfectly suite to a symphonic ‘remix.’ For example, Massive Attack's 'Unfinished Sympathy’ already had a strong orchestral presence, and Daft Punk’s ‘Aerodynamic’ had elements of Vivaldi and Prokofiev.”


Hans Ek is one of the Scandinavian music’s most unique conductors and arrangers. For the past 25 years, Ek has blended classical music with modern jazz, pop, and folk to transform familiar sounds into unexpected soundscapes that have as much to do with Björk as Stockhausen. Learn more about Hans Ek here:


‘Dance Music Symphony’ Track List:


Part 1


Swedish House Mafia – “Greyhound”


Ten Walls – “Walking with Elephants”


Massive Attack – “Unfinished Sympathy”


The Knife – “Silent Shout”


Faithless – “Insomnia”



Part 2


The Chemical Brothers – “Galvanize”


Ellen Allien & Apparat – “Retina”


Skrillex – “First of the Year (Equinox)”


Nina Kraviz – “Walking in the Night”


Aphex Twin – “#3”



Part 3


Deadmau5 – “Strobe”


Martin Garrix – “Animals”


Calvin Harris, Alesso, Hurts – “Under Control”


Avicii – “Levels”


Underworld – “Born Slippy (Nuxx)”


Energy 52 – “Cafe Del Mar”


Daft Punk – “Aerodynamic”


About X5 Music Group


Founded in 2003 and headquartered in Stockholm, Sweden, X5 has become a leading digital music label by creating custom compilations and marketing concepts tailor-made for the digital marketplace. By focusing all creative and production efforts solely on digital products and back catalogs, X5 has been able to unlock the full revenue potential previously left uncaptured by companies focusing on new releases and physical goods. X5 specializes in licensing deep catalog and specific genres of music to create playlists, streaming and download products. X5 was recently acquired by Warner Music Group.

For more information, please contact Emilio Herce ( at Shore Fire Media, (718) 522-7171