Shore Fire Media

Soul Star Maxwell Releases Rare Urban Hang Suite EPs

New "Shame" Remixes Sets Headlining And Festival Dates

Soul Star Maxwell Releases Rare Urban Hang Suite EPs

(New York, NY): Soul star Maxwell is releasing a rare set of EPs from his enduring and influential 1996 debut album Urban Hang Suite, comprising multiple versions of the hits that launched his career and re-shaped R&B music in the 1990's. Beginning March 29th, the five long out of print EPs, will be released every Friday digitally for the first time. On the same day, the singer, songwriter and producer will release a five-song remix EP (+ video and instrumental version) of his latest single "Shame" — his 14th R&B top 10 hit. Maxwell has also confirmed summer performance plans, which include a series of headlining and festival dates.

The five Urban Hang Suite EPs (released via Sony Music’s Certified Classics – Legacy Recordings’ division for the celebration of Sony Music’s Hip-Hop and R&B catalog) comprise a combination of remixes, alternate versions, MTV Unplugged Live tracks, B-sides, dubs, radio edits, and instrumentals and will launch with the star's first single 

"…Til the Cops Come Knockin," followed by other hits that defined his early career — "Sumthin’ Sumthin,'" "Whenever Wherever Whatever" and "Suitelady (The Proposal Jam)."


Maxwell will also release the SHAME 508 remix EP (via Columbia Records) on March 29 to coincide with his other new material. The EP will have five remixes (Cyril Hahn, Cassady, Wes1), along with a video and an instrumental version. 


CLICK HERE for a Maxwell Deep Cuts Playlist with the latest EP releases


Release Schedule:

EP 1 – Til the Cops Come Knockin’ plus Shame – 3/29 

EP 2 – Ascension No One's Gonna Love You, So Don't Ever Wonder/ Seguranca – 4/5 

EP 3 – Sumthin’ Sumthin’ – 4/12

EP 4 – Suitelady (The Proposal Jam) – 4/19

EP 5 – Whenever Wherever Whatever – 4/26


Track Listing for Shame 508 RMX EP:

1 - Shame (S508 Cassady Remix)

2 - Shame (W508 Cassady Remix)

3 - Shame (H508 Cyril Hahn Remix)

4 - Shame (H508 Cyril Hahn Remix)

5 - Shame (F508 Wes1 Got It Remix)

6 - Shame (Visual)

7 - Shame (Unsung)


Track Listing for Urban Hang Suite EPs:

EP 1/Til The Cops Come Knockin’/The Urban Theme

1 - Til the Cops Come Knockin' (Cut)

2 - Til the Cops Come Knockin' (Unsung)

3 - Til the Cops Come Knockin' (PT.01) (The Opus)

4 - Til the Cops Come Knockin' (PT.02) (The Opus) 

5 - Til the Cops Come Knockin' (PT.03) (Uncut) (The Opus)   

6 - Lock You Up N’ Love Fa Days (PT.04) (The Opus)   

7 - Lock You Up N’ Love Fa Days (PT.05) (Unsung)  

8 - Til The Cops Come Knockin' (Encore Live)

9 - The Urban Theme (Unfaded) (B-Side)


EP 2/Ascension No One's Gonna Love You, So Don't Ever Wonder/ Seguranca 

1 - Ascension (No One's Gonna Love You, So Don't Ever Wonder) [The Tribute] (Cut)

2 - Ascension (No One's Gonna Love You, So Don't Ever Wonder) (Uncut) 

3 - Ascension (No One's Gonna Love You, So Don't Ever Wonder) (Unsung)

4 - Ascension (Don't Ever Wonder) (Cut)

5 - Ascension (Dub Ever Wonder)

6 - Ascension (Don't Ever Wonder) (Unsung)

7 - Ascension (Don't Ever Wonder) (Encore Live)

8 - Seguranca (B-Side) 

EP 3/Sumthin' Sumthin 

1 - Sumthin' Sumthin' (Cut)

2 - Sumthin' Sumthin' (Unsung)

3 - Sumthin' Sumthin' (Mantra) [Uncut]

4 - Sumthin' Sumthin' (Mantra) [Unsung]

5 - Sumthin' Sumthin' (Mellosmoothe) [Cut] 

6 - Sumthin' Sumthin' (Mellosmoothe) [Uncut]


EP 4/Suitelady (The Proposal Jam)

1 - Suitelady (The Proposal Jam) (Cut)

2 - Suitelady (The Proposal Jam) (Unsung)

EP 5/Whenever Wherever Whatever

1 - Whenever Wherever Whatever (MTV Unplugged Live)

2 - Whenever Wherever Whatever (Unsung)

3 - Whenever Wherever Whatever (Espanol)


Tour Dates:

March 30 – Atlanta, GA – V103 Live with Kem

April 10 – San Juan, PR – Tom Joyner Fantastic Voyages

May 24 – Indio, CA – Fantasy Springs Resort Casino Event Center

May 25 – Concord, CA – Concord Pavilion

June 28 – Hampton, VA – Hampton Jazz

July 9 – Chicago, IL – The Ravinia Festival

July 26 – Cincinnati, OH – Cincinnati Music Festival