Shore Fire Media

Morrissey To Release ‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’ On March 20th

The Alt-Rock Pioneer’s Latest Release Includes New Single “Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?” With R&B Icon Thelma Houston

Morrissey To Release ‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’ On March 20th

Stream “Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?” HERE

Morrissey is kicking off the decade with the announcement of his 13th solo studio album, ‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’. Out on March 20th, this will be the alt-rock pioneer’s third release on BMG, following last year’s covers album ‘California Son’.

‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’ was produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Joe Chiccarelli (BeckThe StrokesThe Killers). It was recorded during sessions at Studio La Fabrique in Saint-Rémy-de-ProvenceFrance and Sunset Sound in HollywoodCalifornia.

"I have now produced four studio albums for Morrissey,” said Chiccarelli“This is his boldest and most adventurous album yet. He has pushed the boundaries yet again - both musically and lyrically. And once again proving that as a songwriter and singer, he is in his own category. In truth, no one can be Morrissey but… Morrissey!”

Celebrating the announcement, Morrissey releases lead single "Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?" with Motown legend Thelma Houston who is perhaps best known for her interpretation of "Don’t Leave Me This Way" which topped the Billboard Hot 100 in 1977.

Houston commented, “One of the biggest joys for me in this business is getting the opportunity to collaborate with other top artists. I love the challenge to see if what I do can work with what they’re doing. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t. I think the blend of what Morrissey is singing and what I’m singing really works on “Bobby”. And it was a lot of fun working with M in the studio too!"

Pre-Order ‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’ HERE

‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’ will be released on digital and streaming formats, plus a digisleeve CD, a black vinyl and a clear red vinyl that will be available exclusively at independent retail.

Morrissey recently hit #1 on this week’s UK Vinyl Singles Chart with his cover of Roy Orbison’s 1964 classic “It’s Over”. Initially released exclusively via HMV, the single will receive a full release on January 24th.

‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’ tracklist:

  1. "Jim Jim Falls"
  2. "Love Is On Its Way Out"
  3. "Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?"
  4. "I Am Not A Dog On A Chain"
  5. "What Kind of People Live in These Houses?"
  6. "Knockabout World"
  7. "Darling, I Hug A Pillow"
  8. "Once I Saw the River Clean"
  9. "The Truth About Ruth"
  10. "The Secret of Music"
  11. "My Hurling Days Are Done"



Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube| Facebook | Twitter

For more information on Morrissey, please contact Rebecca Shapiro, Josh Page or Alena Joyiens at Shore Fire Media.