Bowie Gets the Lullaby Treatment From Rockabye Baby! for Record Store Day 4.19 | Shore Fire Media

Rockabye Baby!Client Information

19 March, 2014Print

Bowie Gets the Lullaby Treatment From Rockabye Baby! for Record Store Day 4.19

David Bowie is receiving a sonic makeover suitable for any of your little "Heroes" -- courtesy of award-winning lullaby series Rockabye Baby! -- with the release of Lullaby Renditions of David Bowie on vinyl this Record Store Day (April 19th).  The CD and digital version of the album will be released on April 29th.

Focused on '70s and early '80s material, Lullaby Renditions of David Bowie features softened versions of Bowie's breakthrough single "Space Oddity," first US Hot 100 #1 "Fame," and 1983 Iggy Pop collaboration "China Girl." Synths, drums, and guitars are traded for xylophones, wood blocks and bells and Bowie's hits are softened to a soothing, slumber-inducing level that's perfect for the littlest rocker.  The package includes bright colored vinyl, a full color inner sleeve with a kids' game printed on it, and a download card good for the whole album.

Record Store Day, held annually in April with a second event on Black Friday, celebrates and promotes the unique culture surrounding the nearly 1,000 independently owned record stores in the U.S. and thousands of similar stores internationally. For last year's Record Store Day events, Rockabye Baby released vinyl editions of Lullaby Renditions of The White Stripes (April) and Pearl Jam (November).

Making rock music baby-friendly and kids' music adult-friendly, Rockabye Baby has given its lullaby treatment to the work of more than 60 artists including U2, Coldplay, The Clash, Metallica and The White Stripes. The series has sold more than a million albums, has been praised by outlets including People, Spin and NME, and counts among its avowed fans Elton John, Victoria Beckham, Evan Rachel Wood and Ellen DeGeneres, who says the series "puts [kids] to sleep with cool music that you'll want to hear as well."

All Rockabye Baby releases are available for purchase on iTunes, Amazon and the Rockabye Baby site. To hear samples of lullabied music from The Beatles, Kanye West, Madonna, Guns N' Roses and more, visit here.

Rockabye Baby!  Lullaby Renditions of David Bowie track listing:
01. Heroes
02. Changes
03. China Girl
04. Let's Dance
05. Rebel Rebel
06. Fame
07. Golden Years
08. The Man Who Sold the World
09. Modern Love
10. Young Americans
11. Space Oddity
12. Life on Mars?

For more information on Rockabye Baby!, please contact Rebecca Shapiro (, Jon Bleicher (, or Rob Dekker ( at Shore Fire Media: (718) 522-7171