Peter Guralnick Press Page | Shore Fire Media


Photo Credit: Mike LeahyDownload
Anthology Looking To Get Lost: Adventures In Music And WritingDownload

Latest ReleaseView All

Anthology Looking To Get Lost: Adventures In Music And Writing

Release date: 10.27.20

Publisher: Little, Brown

Press Releases View All

October 26, 2020

Peter Guralnick’s Looking To Get Lost: Adventures In Music And Writing (Little, Brown) Out Tomorrow

Read More
September 17, 2020

Music’s Preeminent Biographer Peter Guralnick Returns With “Revelatory” (Kirkus) New Anthology Looking To Get Lost: Adventures In Music And Writing (Little, Brown, October 27)

Read More
October 15, 2015

Sam Phillips: The Man Who Invented Rock 'n' Roll: A Conversation with Peter Guralnick & Conan O'Brien

Read More
September 2, 2015

Peter Guralnick's Definitive Biography 'Sam Phillips: The Man Who Invented Rock N' Roll' Out November 10 (Little, Brown And Company)

Read More

Biography View

Peter Guralnick has been called “a national resource” by critic Nat Hentoff for work that has argued passionately and persuasively for the vitality of this country’s intertwined black and white musical traditions. His books include the prize-winning two-volume biography of Elvis Presley, 'Last Train to Memphis' and 'Careless Love'. Of the first, Bob Dylan wrote, “Elvis steps from the pages. You can feel him breathe. This book cancels out all others.”

Guralnick's first work in a decade is 'Sam Phillips: The Man Who Invented Rock ‘n’ Roll,' the biography of the famed record producer who founded Sun Records and discovered Elvis, Howlin' Wolf, Johnny Cash, Ike Turner, Jerry Lee Lewis, Roy Orbison and more.  It is to be released November 10, 2015.  Previously, Guralnick wrote and co-produced a documentary of the same name.

Guralnick's other works include an acclaimed trilogy on American roots music, 'Sweet Soul Music', 'Lost Highway', and 'Feel Like Going Home'; the biographical inquiry 'Searching for Robert Johnson'; and the novel, 'Nighthawk Blues'. His most recent book, 2005's 'Dream Boogie: The Triumph of Sam Cooke', was hailed as “monumental, panoramic, an epic tale told against a backdrop of brilliant, shimmering music, intense personal melodrama, and vast social changes.”  He won a Grammy for his liner notes for 'Sam Cooke Live at the Harlem Square Club' and wrote the scripts for the Grammy-winning documentary 'Sam Cooke/Legend' and Martin Scorsese’s blues documentary 'Feel Like Going Home'. In 2010, Guralnick was inducted in the Blues Hall of Fame.



Press Clippings